UPDATE: Adam Granofsky calls Mark Kozelek a “douche”, Kozelek responds with another song

Mark Kozelek photo by Ken Estep // Adam Granofsky photo by Kmeron

Mark Kozelek photo by Ken Estep // Adam Granofsky photo by Kmeron

Seemingly, the battle between Mark Kozelek (aka Sun Kil Moon) and the War on Drugs frontman Adam Granofsky (aka Adam Granduciel) will never cease. In all fairness, Kozelek has been the benefactor to this so-called “rivalry” since early September when a show by the War on Drugs bled over Kozelek’s set in Ottawa. Grandofsky hardly vocalized a counter-response to Kozelek’s constant (and unwarrented) bashing of him in the media until Kozelek released his sneering track “War On Drugs: Suck My Cock”.

After some time for digestion, Granofsky spoke with Songs for Whoever to express his take of the events three weeks after the song’s release. His perspective tells of attempting to email Kozelek, but with little avail – mostly speaking through a mutual friend. Eventually, Granofsky was informed of the offer for the two to join stage (and let bygones be bygones) had expired while handed a comment conflating the War on Drugs with Starbucks-rock. Among other things, he calls Kozelek a “douche” and a “prick” in the interview:

“I mean, to be fair to that idiot, what he said in that song… I didn’t really have a problem with any of it until I heard the song. First of all, he never met us, and yet said all these things. He’s such a douche. I asked somebody if I could get his e-mail, because I wasn’t trying to start this stupid Twitter thing, I was just bummed. I went to a mutual friend who explained that he wouldn’t give out his e-mail address. So I just got an e-mail through this friend that said “Mark wants to come to the Fillmore, he will write a song called ‘War On Drugs Suck My Cock’, you back him up on it and he gets to play ‘Beer Commercial Guitar’, then you back him up on one of his songs, ‘Dogs’, from his new album. And then he plays ‘Beer Commercial Guitar’ on one of your songs.”.

We were on tour and I thought “this is actually a pretty cool idea, I don’t have anything against this guy, this is cool”. So I was really excited and was gonna write him back in a couple of days, ‘cause I was busy at the time. Then two days later I get an e-mail back from him, saying “the offer has expired, maybe when I get home from tour I’ll go to Starbucks and buy your record.”. I was like “you’re such a fucking prick, dude”. He was such an asshole, I didn’t even say anything. Then he goes to the internet and he “challenges” us to this thing, but I was like “you fucking prick, you already said ‘No’!”. He’s such a fucking child. And then the song is just idiotic, he’s just a fucking idiot. I don’t have time for idiots. I’m just pissed that he tried to make it come out like he was challenging us. I had already essentially agreed to it, and then the Starbucks comment…what the fuck, dude. Get over your fucking self.”

Inevitably, Kozelek took little time in responding to Graofsky’s call-out. Playing the classic-Mark Kozelek move (and very much in the vein of his album Benji), he released yet another song; this one titled “Adam Granofsky Blues”. It’s his standard affair: a spoken-word, acoustic progression with a depressive, bluesy undertone. Only this time Kozelek isn’t rehashing a past, personal story of his; he’s simply strumming to the words by Granofsky above – verbatim – while adding a Muttley-esque laugh to the end of every sentence. Give a stream to “Adam Grandofsky Blues” below.

One thought on “UPDATE: Adam Granofsky calls Mark Kozelek a “douche”, Kozelek responds with another song

What do you think? Shout out your thoughts here.

